Submit Your Nominations for the 2016 BBA Awards!

Once a year the BBA awards Burlington businesses and business leaders awards in three categories at the BBA Annual Dinner & Meeting. These awards honor the winners’ hard work and dedication to making Burlington such a great place to live, work and play. We ask that the community nominates businesses who they think are deserving of an award in the following three categories:


Business of the Year

“For exemplary business practices, contributions to the community, promotion of a positive image for Burlington, and business success.” Established in 2002, originally as the Small Business Award.

Tim Halvorson Award

The Tim Halvorson Award for Business Person of the Year seeks to recognize a local businessperson who presents the combination of being a business leader whose work has promoted the economic vitality of Burlington and who has devoted their time, energy and resources to the betterment of the Burlington community.

Hertzel Pasackow Architectural Excellence Award

“For significant contribution to the physical or architectural quality of Burlington.” Established in 1986 in memory of Hertzel Pasackow, owner of the Mayfair on upper Church Street, and founding member of both BBA and the Church Street Marketplace Commission.

Nomination Instructions:

  1. Fill out this survey in at lease one of the three categories.
  2. Provide us with your name, company & contact info so that we can contact you for a nomination description.


Past Winners:

Business of the year

2002: Al Gobeille Shanty on the Shore
2003: Andrea Sisino Vermont City Marathon
2004: Lois Bodoky Lo Jo’s Yum Yum (“Hot Dog Lady”)
2005: Gardeners Supply
2006: Truex Cullins & Partners Architects
2007: Lake Champlain Chocolates
2008: Seven Days
2009: SkiRack
2010: Vermont Lake Monsters
2011: Select Design
2012: Lake Champlain Transportation
2013: Burlington Police
2014: Burton Snowboards
2015: American Flatbread Burlington Hearth

Tim Halvorson Award

2009: Tim Halvorson
2010: Joe Carton
2011: Jeff Davis
2012: Scott Carpenter
2013: Bob Conlon
2014: David Finney
2015: Michael Seaver

Hertzel Pasackow Architecture Excellence Award

2002 Burlington Town Center
2003 ECHO @ The Leahy Center for Lake Champlain
2004 Firehouse Center for the Performing Arts
2005 Champlain College “Power of Three” Buildings
2006 60 Lake Street (Lake & College Performing Arts Center)
2007 Burlington International Airport
2008 The Dudley H. Davis Student Center at the University of Vermont
2009 The Hall Block, 210 College St, By Redstone
2010 Heritage Flight Aviation Center
2011 Perry Hall, Champlain College
2012 Waterfront Plaza, ICV
2013 Redstone Lofts at the University of Vermont
2014 Hotel Vermont
2015 Flynn Center for the Performing Arts